About Cambridge IGCSE

Globally recognised
Cambridge IGCSE is accepted by leading universities and employers worldwide as evidence of academic ability, providing an international passport to progression and success. In the UK, Cambridge IGCSE is accepted as equivalent to GCSE.

Cambridge IGCSE is available in 70 subjects, including over 30 languages in any combination. Core and extended curricula are available in many subjects for students of differing abilities. Schools are free to develop a curriculum that suits their learners’ needs.

Syllabuses use learner-centred and enquiry based approaches to learning. Cambridge IGCSE develops skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving.

Rigorous assessment
Learners are assessed at the end of the course. This linear structure gives more uninterrupted teaching time. Learners are awarded a grade from A* to G for each subject with A* being the highest grade.

International outlook
Cambridge IGCSE has been designed with two concepts in mind: international standards and contextualised learning. The content suits a wide variety of schools and avoids cultural bias.

Tried and tested
2013 marked the 25th anniversary of the first Cambridge IGCSE exam.

 The addition of IGCSE will enable students to continue their overseas studies earlier. Moreover, students can study in various fields.

IGCSE is a world-recognised qualification for students. It is an examination that tests knowledge in individual subjects in the same way as SPM.